Showing posts with label facebook. Show all posts
Showing posts with label facebook. Show all posts

Saturday, August 31, 2019

Random Thoughts And Stuff


Here I go the end of another month and I have to scramble to find something to rant, chat, talk or ramble on about. Not sure where this will take me. Maybe I will delete this before posting it because I found something else to yak about. So yeah I didn't have anything planned. Well that isn't entirely true I do have a few posts planned. A couple have been gathering so much dust they are now buried under several feet of peat moss.

I can't help but wonder if I have used the same post title before. Have I? Don't know. Maybe. It is sort of generic and does mention its randomness.

I guess I can post about this idea that I was going to post on Facebook at one time but decided not to. I live in a pretty typical suburban neighborhood that has it's share of crime but is far from a high risk high crime area. I live in a garden style apartment. You know the kind that has a handful of apartments per floor and the stairwell is exposed to the outside elements. The front "porch" landing area has our building's bank of mailboxes and then the stairs leading up to the units and some stairs leading to the first floor/ground floor apartments. My apartment is along the same side as the mailboxes on the second floor which if I have a large box or package waiting at my front door can be seen from the mailboxes. I am certain that in the last 3 or 4 years I have had 4 or 5 packages or boxes stolen from the front door. When the post office or UPS tracking says your package was delivered and there is nothing by your front door, then yep some low-life scumbag stole your package. You can't blame the person who shipped your order they kept their end of the agreement by shipping the package. You can't blame the delivery service, unless there were specific orders to not leave the package unattended. The only person to blame is the low-life scum bucket that nicked the package. I hope they enjoyed the worthless books, or beat up comics, creased trading cards, or the oversized t-shirt or whatever was in the package. One of the more recent packages stolen from my front door was a book about the Collyer Brothers, Homer and Langley who were among the first recorded Hoarders in the US. I find that almost ironic someone taking a book about hoarders, but it still pissed me off since the book is a little hard to find, not very hard, but difficult to find at a decent low price. But I digress somewhat.

So my thought about my neighborhood is this. In theory I could close the front door to my apartment and leave it unlocked, leave for the day and return without anyone ever attempting to open the door. I could probably leave it unlocked for several days and nobody would ever know. However, I'm sure if I left the door slightly ajar, or completely wide open and was gone for more than a minimum half an hour the chances of someone coming by and being curious about this completely vulnerable apartment would increase and I'd come home to having many items missing. The longer I was gone the more stuff that would be missing. Of course there is also the likelihood that nobody would disturb anything (depending on the day of the week I guess)  but that is less probable. I wouldn't expect anyone to be kind and close the door. I would never test this open door theory.

I also recall a few years back that after a yearly or biannual exterminator visit, I noticed a nice pocket knife was missing from my kitchen that I usually kept in a kitchen drawer but might have left it out on the counter that day. I can't prove it was taken. I don't recall enough details of the make of it to describe it well enough except it was all silver. I don't recall what exterminator service was used during that time or which year it was. Now days my apartment management company uses a different extermination service that comes twice a year at least, and they require that all kitchen and bathroom cabinets are emptied to make spraying easier and that all counters are clear. Plus no dishes in the sink. The time the pocket knife was taken the only prerequisite was that the counters were clear, oh and the no dishes in the sink. This totally empty and clear requirement also puts your apartment in more of a disarray than it normally is. I haven't recovered from the last round of spraying. Heck I never really recovered from moving into the apartment 11 years ago.

Wow this post turned out to be a bit of a bummer. I didn't think it would go to the dark side.

Tuesday, February 25, 2014

A Late Myka Monday: Swordplay


Sorry this one is posted at a weird late time. On Monday I saw this (at work) on the Sci-Fi Channel's Tumbler page via facebook.Apparently they do Myka Mondays too. My work internet network doesn't like the Syfy channel pages and I forgot about this till late.

SyFy Tumbler Myka Mondays If I recall correctly it was from the Episode that Jeri Ryan (7of9 from Star Trek: Voyager) guest starred in "Queen For A Day" Season 3 Episode 4

Thursday, January 21, 2010

Credit Score Rant

Rant: WARNING this got me so angry I might use some very strong language.
As if anything related to credit scores could get any worse. I heard that now some companies are thinking of looking not only at your credit score, but also at your history on social networking sites like Facebook and Twitter. The idea is to check out your associates and friends credit histories and compare theirs to yours. WT? Apparently some Creditors are Using Social Networks to check your credit worthyness. The idea is if your friend Joe Blow is chronically late with his payments then you might be also. Well if your friend Joe Blow had blonde hair and dyed it Pink and got a Mohawk then the chances are pretty good you would too. Right? Well that is the logic they are following and with a whole boatload of other things associated with your credit score THIS IS WRONG AS WELL.

First of all your credit score is oh so mighty and powerful, that without it you can't get bank loans to buy a car or house and now they are saying even getting a job can be affected by your credit score. UGH.

OK so there are thousands of commercials that say you need to know what your credit score is and you can get it FOR FREE. Well the catch is you can ONLY GET IT FOR FREE ONCE A YEAR! If you want unlimited access to YOUR OWN CREDIT SCORE you have to pay $7.00 a month or a year or some asinine amount to each of the 3 credit reporting companies. IT SHOULD BE FRACKIN' FREE 'NUFF SAID.

Oh and any creditor who wants to can check out your score any DAMN TIME THEY FEEL LIKE IT. AND YOU NEVER GET TOLD! Unless you start looking at your credit score yourself.

THIS SHIT NEEDS TO CHANGE. The individual should have access to their score AT ANYTIME. It's the CREDITORS SHOULD HAVE TO PAY $1,000.00 EVERYTIME THEY LOOK AT YOUR SCORE.

So Equifax, Experian and whoever else the BIG AND MIGHTY THREE CREDIT SCORE COMPANIES ARE PLEASE START GIVING ME MY FREE CREDIT SCORE EVERY MONTH AND TELL ME WHEN SOMEONE REQUESTS TO LOOK AT IT. AND CHARGE THEM, NOT ME TO SEE IT.

How long have credit scores been around anyway? It seems they have only been around for 20 or 30 years or less. Maybe I'm just too damn ignorant of what exactly the credit scores do or how they are collected, like millions of other Americans. If the crap is supposed to be so damn important than how come it's SO DAMN HARD TO FIND OUT and to correct if there is a problem. Worse yet why is it so damn hard for the victim of identity theft to correct the problem and straighten out their credit score, after having had their ID stolen.

I am beginning to think this whole credit score business should not exist at all. AMERICA LETS GET RID OF IT FOR A BETTER system that helps the individual and NOT THE BANKS or the CRIMINALS.

Wednesday, September 30, 2009

See you in Sept...er October...

EEK September is almost over. Loads of things to do 'round here. I was going to do a rant but I think I'll try that tomorrow if I remember, I've got it written down, it is a matter of remembering to type it up here. Its all Facebook's fault, that and being bummed out about the Nationals having more than 100 loses, the Redskins losing to the Detroit Lions, and The Rams not winning any of their games yet. UGH Good thing Hockey season is starting.

Thursday, April 16, 2009

Gotta Get Blogging More.

(*Found this picture here clearwave.ca)

Yeah, OK I've gotta get offa my tush and get blogging more often. It's Mid-April and I've only done 4 posts this year. Lets see, I average about 37 posts a year, which is only about 3 posts a month. Hmmm not bad, but not good as far as the blogging world is concerned. I guess it's all that time I spend on Facebook and Twitter. One thing about Twitter that I don't like is when you follow someone (or a group) you get ALL their updates whenever they update, so for twits that Twit (or is it Tweet?) constantly your homepage is filled updates from that one group. You can't follow someone and only occasionally check their updates. OH Well.

Anyway I have two books that I need to review here, and add to my A Recent Read listing. I also need to update and fix somethings on my website klandersen.com For that I was going to try learning about Cascading Style Sheets (CSS) and started doing that, because that is how most websites now-a-days are coded. My big problem with it though is I want a link list on a side bar like my site has so I don't have to always update a million pages when I want to add or delete a link. So far I'm confused as to how to get that actually done, because when I experiment with it the ways people have mentioned how to do it don't seem to work. So I will probably have to continue to do things the very long old-school HTML way.

Wednesday, February 25, 2009

Nice Face, Shame About the Anorexia

A few days to a week ago, I spotted this Ralph Lauren ad while on Facebook. My first reaction was dang how much skinnier and bonier can those two get? Get Anorexia much?


Why am I reminded of those cartoons where the character gets flattened and they look normal until you see the side view and they are a very paper thin line?

That is so not healthy. I can see using a healthy skinny model for your ads but skin & bones? No. Its a real shame because the one on the left would be pretty cute if she had some meat on her bones!

Give then girls some Pizza and some Girl Scout Cookies Stat.

Wednesday, October 15, 2008

Facebook Fun or Princess Bride Classic Stuff

I found a humorous picture on Facebook.com.


Ah a famous quote immortalized in it's literal sense. For those of you who have been under a rock for about 20-25 years or don't get to the cinema much. The quote "Hello my name is Inigo Montoya, you killed my father, prepare to die!" is from the movie The Princess Bride uttered by the character of the same name Inigo Montoya portrayed by Mandy Patinkin who starred in the TV shows Dead Like Me and Criminal Minds.



Hmm must be a popular idea. OH Well. Hey I like this red version.